Governing Body Responsibilities

The Governing Body is currently made up of 10 Governors including one representing the staff. We come from a variety of backgrounds and bring different skills and expertise, but we are all committed to ensuring that West Oaks provides a safe, happy learning environment and that our pupils receive the best education possible.

The Governors are responsible for:

  • ensuring that the visions, ethos and strategic direction of the school are clearly defined
  • ensuring that the senior leadership team performs their responsibilities for the educational performance of the school;
  • ensuring the sound, proper and effective use of the school’s financial resources.

The chair of the governing body is Margaret Burgess, she can be contacted on

Each year the governors are required to declare any relevant business and pecuniary interests.  This includes business interests in the school, financial interests, being a governor at another school, being related to another member of staff.  All governors made a nil return.

LA (1) (appointed by the LA)

Vic Worth – Term of office 1/9/2014 – 1/9/2018

Parents (2) (elected by parents of the school)

Joyce Boocock – 23/9/2014 – 23/9/2018

John Hayton – 09/2015 – 09/2019


Andrew Hodkinson – 1/9/2006 –1/9/2020

Staff (1) (appointed by staff)

Keeley Murray – 26/2/2015 – 26/2/2019

Co-opted (appointed by the governing body)

Margaret Burgess (Chair)  – 28/11/2013 – 27/11/2017

Grahame Robinson – 28/11/2013 – 27/11/2017

Elaine Hampson (Vice Chair) 28/11/2013 – 27/11/2017

Sue Towers – 28/11/2013 –27/11/2017

Associate Member (appointed by the governing body)

Helen Amor (no voting rights) – 28/11/2013 –27/11/2017

Committee Membership

Business Planning

John Hayton (Chair)

Margaret Burgess

Andrew Hodkinson

Sue Towers

Grahame Robinson

Helen Amor (Co-opted)

Helen Hudson (In attendance)

Sue Twitchen (In attendance)

Ian Buckland (In attendance)

Liz Lowes (Clerk)

Standards, Achievement and Safeguarding 

Margaret Burgess (Chair)

Andrew Hodkinson

Sue Towers

Keeley Murray

Elaine Hampson

Teaching and Learning Co-ordinators (in attendance)

Anna Stevens (in attendance)

Liz Lowes (Clerk)

Performance Management and Pay

Margaret Burgess (Chair)

Elaine Hampson

Joyce Boocock

Helen Amor (Clerk)

Premises and Health and Safety 

Elaine Hampson (Chair)

Joyce Boocock

Grahame Robinson

Vic Worth

Andrew Hodkinson

Ian Buckland (in attendance)

Liz Lowes (Clerk)

Governor Responsibilities

Child Protection/Safeguarding  – Margaret Burgess

Children Looked After – Elaine Hampson

Equality – Grahame Robinson

Pupil premium, Sports premium/SEN governor  – Elaine Hampson

Governor Training – Elaine Hampson

Health and Safety – Vic Worth

Complaints – Margaret Burgess

Committee terms of reference

These are described in the attached document

Governing Body Responsibilities 2016-2017